top of page
WPV Ad - 1019 x 126.png

2018 Victorian Water Polo Secondary Schools Competition

It was an action-packed day at Albert Park on Tuesday with more than 215 students from over 30 government and independent schools in attendance for the second Victorian Water Polo Secondary Schools Competition.

We were particularly delighted to see stronger representation from the government sector this year, who made up over 40% of total students on the day.

This was the first year we ran a second division in the boys competition, which provided new and developing teams to participate at a more appropriate level. It was well received, and we will continue to run it next year with the intention of fielding a second division in the girl’s competition.

By mid-afternoon it was time to crown the winners for 2018. In the girl’s competition it was the composite team Northern Schools 2 who emerged victorious in Division One Girls against the composite team All Students. Over in the boy’s competition Brighton Grammar claimed the honours in Division Two against Camberwell Grammar, while inaugural winners Haileybury College took out the Division One title for the second consecutive year against composite team Melbourne Schools 1.

The MVPs for the tournament were Billie Gifford for Division One Girls, James Dickson for Division Two Boys, and Guy Meretz for Division One Boys.

A special thank you to our tournament referees Alon Pfau, Steve Wight, Mark Grooby and Adam Mills who refereed every match on the day, and to Lisa Flahive, Darren Steere, Charles Dane and David Smyth who assisted with refereeing throughout the day.

Thank you also to Mitch Hallam, Marni Jacka and Saskia Richardson who table officiated for the day.

Congratulations to all the winners and to the students who participated. We look forward to running it again next year. We have already locked in Tuesday 27 August in 2019 so save the date!

You can find all photography from the tournament on our Facebook Page here


Division One Girls

  1. Northern Schools 2 CT

  2. All Students CT

  3. Caulfield Grammar School


Billie Gifford

Division One Boys

  1. Haileybury College

  2. Melbourne Schools CT

  3. Caulfield Grammar School


Guy Meretz

Division Two Boys

  1. Brighton Grammar School

  2. Camberwell Grammar School

  3. Caulfield Grammar School


James Dickson

bottom of page